Visitors.

 

As many of you know, I was born in Western Australia. My Grandfather, Grandmother and most of my family live in Perth and I haven’t seen them very much since we left. This is why I became extremely elated when my Grandfather called and announced that he and Granna would be in Sydney on my birthday.

My Grandfather is a wonderful man, I honestly believe that without him I wouldn’t be half the person I am now. He taught me the value of learning, the importance of logic and the rewards of motivation. These are some of the most important lessons that I have learnt. Of course these lessons were often difficult to grasp. This is because my grandfather is proficient in numerous languages and consequently switches between them every few sentences. In fact, Grandpa knows so much that his head obviously has trouble sorting it all out. Unfortunately for us he continues to learn and learn. Just last week he complained to me on the phone, he said that after he reads for more than five hours his eyes begin to water.

My Grandmother is also a lovely woman. The lessons she taught me regarded pride,  acceptance and honesty. I’m sure you remember being shown and told a lot of things by adults when you were young.  Honestly, most of the time we had no idea what they were trying to communicate. Still, our small brains managed to conclude that it was something of importance. Now that I’m a bit older I understand why my Grandma used to show me thousands of photo’s of my ancestors. I now know that my Grandma was trying instill in me a sense of pride, a pride of my families achievements.  Apart from the fact that my Granna is a bastion of lifelong knowledge, she makes a pretty mean cake.

Anyway, The point is that I feel blessed that these wonderful people will be with me in the flesh. They have always been in my life and always will be, but it’s really nice that I will be able to see them again in person. I’m already wondering what valuable lessons I’ll learn from them next. I encourage those of you whom see there extended family almost everyday to value and make the most of your time with them. Everybody is made into themselves by their experiences and everybody has different views.  More often than not the wise people in your family can help you to discover yourself.

~ by John on June 23, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
